Sheffield Lab Logo - Trade Mark

Sheffield Lab

Piano Music of Chopin, Brahms & Prokofiev
Lincoln Mayorga

A fresh and brilliant recording of a cornerstone of romantic piano literature, the Twenty-four Preludes of Frederic Chopin.   These compositions explore the full range of the composer's musical and emotional palette, inspiring Franz Liszt to call them "poetic preludes, like those of a great contemporary poet."   The preludes are supplemented by Brahms' last opus for piano and three pieces by Prokofiev: a waltz from his opera "War and Peace" and the contradance and waltz from the motion picture, "Lermontov."

Frèdèric Chopin Preludes
  1. No.   1 in C Major
  2. No.   2 in A Minor
  3. No.   3 in G Major
  4. No.   4 in E Minor
  5. No.   5 in D Major
  6. No.   6 in B Minor
  7. No.   7 in A Major
  8. No.   8 in F Sharp Minor
  9. No.   9 in E Major
10. No. 10 in C Sharp Minor
11. No. 11 in B Major
12. No. 12 in G Sharp Minor
13. No. 13 in F Sharp Major
14. No. 14 in E Flat Minor
15. No. 15 in D Flat Major
16. No. 16 in B Flat Minor
17. No. 17 in A Flat Major
18. No. 18 in F Minor
19. No. 19 in E Flat Major
20. No. 20 in C Minor
21. No. 21 in B Flat Major
22. No. 22 in G Minor
23. No. 23 in F Major
24. No. 24 in D Minor

25. Prelude in C Sharp Minor, Op. 45
26. Prelude in A Flat Major, Op. Posth.
      (Presto con leggerezza)

Johannes Brahms
27. Intermezzo in B Minor
28. Intermezzo in E Minor
29. Intermezzo in C Major
30. Rhapsody in E Flat

Sergei Prokofiev
31. Waltz from "War and Peace"

Sergei Prokofiev
32. Contradance from "Lermontov"

Sergei Prokofiev
33. Mephisto Waltz from "Lermontov"

  Sheffield Lab is distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading