Fresh! from RR Logo TM

fresh!FROM R.R.

Reference Recordings FR-729 CD  Cover




“Gonna do a little hoodoo, gonna say a little prayer,
Iím gonna throw my spell into the air” — Fiona Boyes

SAN FRANCISCO Fiona Boyes is Australia's most successful and celebrated international Blues artist.   Her previous Reference Recordings release, Professin The Blues, received the 2017 Acoustic Album of the Year award from Blues Blast Magazine.   The Blues Foundation in Memphis has honored her with 6 Blues Music Award nominations, including Acoustic Album of the Year and Best Acoustic Artist in 2017.   In 2003, she won their International Blues Challenge, representing The Melbourne Blues Appreciation Society.

This new album, Voodoo In The Shadows, is a self-produced session by the multi-talented guitarist/singer/songwriter, exploring the allure of the back roads from Memphis, through Mississippi, to New Orleans and down to the Gulf.   In 11 songs, including 9 originals, we hear stories of respect, partying, attitude, mystery, sensuality and love.

Joining her are two Australian band-mates: multi-instrumentalist Tim Neal (Hammond B3, piano, bass and baritone sax) and drummer/percussionist Mark Gruden, plus Johnny Sansone, one of New Orleans finest musicians, who adds his harmonica and accordion to richly season this international gumbo!   As is customary.

Fiona plays a cornucopia of guitars; her 6-string Maton, three cigar-box instruments and her rare baritone National Reso-lectric.   Players combine in several groupings, featuring their different instruments, and a collaborative magic emerges, taking listeners along on the journey.

FRESH! is part of Reference RecordingsĀf mission to encourage unique and fine artists, and give them a strong platform for promotion and sales nationally and internationally.

  1. Call Their Name     5:19
  2. Party at Red's     4:15
  3. What You Put on Me     3:47
  4. Dark and Dangerous Love     3:57
  5. Little Things     4:05
  6. New Orleans     3:27
  7. Donít Leave Your Feet at Home     3:14
  8. I Ainít Fooling     4:27
  9. With a Little Respect     4:24
10. Tell Your Story Walking     3:39
11. Ember     4:50

All songs written by Fiona Boyes
Except Track 4: J Rene Coman
And Track 6: Gary Vincent

Fresh! from RR Logo TM

Fresh!  from Reference Recordings is distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading