NMC Recordings Logo TM
John Casken : The Dream of the Rood

The Hilliard Ensemble
Schönberg Ensemble - Clark Rundell, conductor

NMC D245

D245 Cover
John Casken's work is often inspired by literature and legend, landscape and painting and particularly by the Northumberland countryside where he lives.   His compositions have won a Gramophone award, the First Britten Award for Composition, the Prince Pierre de Monaco Prize, a British Composer Award for Vocal Music, as well as shortlistings for both RPS and British Composer Awards.

The Dream of the Rood sets texts chosen by the composer from the Anglo-Saxon poem of the same name which dramatically describes the story of the crucifixion in a highly original portrayal of Christ's death coupled with Casken's own arrangement of Pérotins Viderunt omnes, the earliest surviving vocal work of plainsong in four parts.   In both arrangements, Casken introduces a large instrumental ensemble and masterfully enhances the medieval texts and music of the originals within a highly effective contemporary context.   Alongside these are three pieces from the rare Conductus repertoire of the 12th/13th centuries which have been core to The Hilliard Ensemble's performing library.

This release marks the significant contribution to British music of one of its most notable vocal ensembles and one of its richest of composing voices, in work that is equally moving and dramatic.


01. Anon Vetus ab'it littera     3'30
02. Anon Procurans odium     2'10
03. Anon Dens misertus hominis     5'54
04. Perotin (arr. Casken) Viderunt omnes     12'03

      John Casken The Dream of the Rood
05. I. Procession 1 - The Dream     4'44
06. II. Motet of Angels     0'34
07. III. Dream of Fear     2'48
08. IV. Interlude 1     0'42
09. V. Procession 2 - The Torn Tree     1'57
10. VI. Interlude 2     0'35
11. VII. Dream of Revelation     0'45
12. VIII. Motet of Sacrifice     3'28
13. IX. Interludes     0'37
14. X. Motet of Shame     1'34
15. XI. Interlude 4     0'27
16. XII. Dream of Adornment     1'53
17. XIII. Motet of the Rood     3'17
18. XIV. Motet of Prayer     101
20. XV. Procession 3 - The Faith     2'11

      Total timing     50'30

NMC Recordings are distributed in Australia by
Rockian Trading, P.O.Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone (03) 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile (03) 9444 6879