ACD 2789 Cover

ATMA Classique Logo

Concertos & Overture

Vincent Lauzer, flûte à bec | recorder
Mathieu Lussier, bassoon and direction
Arion Orchestre Baroque

ACD2 2789

The latest recording by Arion Baroque Orchestra bears witness to the fact that Georg Philipp Telemann's extensive catalog of works is not yet fully known to listeners.   This CD marks the world premiere recording, under the direction of Alexander Weimann, of Telemann's Overture in G major, TWV 55: G5.   The accompanying suite of evocatively titled dances is utterly French in character, with a pastoral trio of wind instruments - two oboes and a bassoon.

The two concertos on this recording are directed by Mathieu Lussier.   They adopt the four-movement form (slow-fast-slow-fast), a vestige of the sonata da chiesa, one of Telemann's favourite forms.   The Concerto for Recorder and Bassoon in F major, played by Vincent Lauzer (recorder) and Lussier performing double duty on bassoon, is an example of the composer's fondness for unusual sonic combinations.

Vincent Lauzer completes the recording with the Concerto for Recorder, Strings, and Continuo in D major.

Révélation Radio-Canada 2013-2014 and Breakthrough Artist of the Year (2012 Opus Awards), recorder player Vincent Lauzer graduated from McGill University where he studied with Matthias Maute.   He is the artistic director of the Lamèque International Baroque Music Festival in New-Brunswick.   In October 2018, his most recent recording of Vivaldi's concertos with Arion Baroque Orchestra was awarded a Diapason d'Or by the famous French magazine Diapason.

As a soloist, Mathieu Lussier has energetically and passionately promoted the modern and baroque bassoon as solo instruments for more than two decades throughout North America and Europe.   He also devotes considerable time to chamber music as a member of ensemble Pentaèdre de Montréal.   Lussier was recently appointed Artistic Director of Arion Baroque Orchestra.

Alexander Weimann is in demand an ensemble director, soloist, and chamber music partner.   Currently, he focuses on his activities as Music Director of the Pacific Baroque Orchestra in Vancouver and in the Seattle Baroque Orchestra.

Founded in 1981 in Montreal, Arion Baroque Orchestra is now a cornerstone in the world of early music on period instruments in Quebec and Canada.   Over the last 40 years, the clarity and freshness of Arion's interpretations have often been praised and the delicacy of its readings of well-chosen and varied works has never wavered.

      GEORG PHILIPP TELEMANN (1681-1767)

      Concerto pour flûte à bec, cordes et continuo en do majeur, TWV 51:C1
      Recorder Concerto in C Major, TWV 51:C1

  1. I. Allegretto [3:13]
  2. II. Allegro [3:23]
  3. III. Andante [4:27]
  4. IV. Tempo di minuet [4:47]

      Concerto pour flûte à bec et basson en fa majeur, TWV 52:F1
      Concerto for Recorder and Bassoon in F Major, TWV 52:F1

  5. I. Largo [3:58]
  6. II. Vivace [5:24]
  7. III. Grave [4:37]
  8. IV. Allegro [3:34

    Ouverture en sol majeur pour 2 hautbois, basson, cordes et basse continue, TWV 55:G5
      Overture in G Major for 2 oboes, bassoon, strings, and continuo, TWV 55:G5

  9. I. Ouverture [6:19]
10. II. Les Augures [2:56]
11. III. Rondeau [2:09]
12. IV. Entrée [2:32]
13. V. La Joye [0:56]
14. VI. Sarabande [1:55]
15. VII. Gigue [1:28]
16. VIII. Gavotte en Rondeau [1:13]
17. IX. Plainte [3:06]
18. X. Menuets 1, 2 & 3 [3:44]

Nous remercions le Dr Ian Payne pour l'utilisation de son édition de l'Ouverture en sol majeur TWV 55:G5 de Telemann chez Severinus Press.
We thank Dr. Ian Payne for using his edition of Telemann's Overture in G major, TWV 55:G5 on Severinus Press

ATMA Classique is distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading
PO Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone +61 (0)3 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile +61 (0)3 9444 6879