ACD 2739 Cover

ATMA Classique Logo
François Dompierre
Concertango grosso

KERSON LEONG, violin | DENIS PLANTE, bandonéon
RICHARD CAPOLLA, double bass

ACD2 2739
• ATMA Classique proudly presents the world premier recording of Concertango Grosso performed by pianist Louise Bessette, who commissioned the work from Québécois composer François Dompierre.   This all-Dompierre recording features the participation of several of Bessette's esteemed musical colleagues.

• Dompierre's Les Diableries is featured in a new arrangement for piano, violin, and string orchestra, with the special participation of violinist Kerson Leong. Bessette also performs Dompierre's Concerto de Saint-Irénée, commissioned by the late Françoys Bernier, founder of Domaine Forget Festival.

• The Appassionata chamber orchestra performs La Mort de Céleste, which is based on music Dompierre wrote for Francis Mankiewitz's film Les portes tournantes.

• François Dompierre began his career collaborating with Félix Leclerc and several other Québécois artists. In 1975 his eponymous disc became a popular success. He has also written the scores for some 50 films, and the musical comedy Demain matin Montréal m'attend, with lyrics by Michel Tremblay. His concert works include: Les Diableries; Concerto de Saint-Irénée; Les Glorieux, a commission from the MSO; and 24 Préludes pour piano.

• In June 2016, Louise Bessette was honoured by the University of Western Ontario (London, Ontario) where she received an honourary Doctor of Music, honoris causa degree to celebrate her accomplishments as an internationally renowned performer. She is recognized as a leading light in the interpretation of 20th and 21st century music and for her significant impact in the contemporary world of classical piano. Louise Bessette received her eighth Opus Prize in 2016. In January 2015, she was listed as one of Canada's top 25 pianists by CBC Music

Concertango grosso pour piano, violon,
bandoneon, contrebasse et orchestre
à cordes

  1.   I. Milonga [6:38]
  2.  II. Canción [9:30]
  3. III. Vals [4:47]
  4. IV. Variaciones [5:21]

Concerto de Saint-Irénée pour piano
et orchestre à cordes

  5.   I. Marcato [8:03]
  6.  II. Adagio cantabite [6:54]
  7. III. Vivo [4:53]

Les Diableries (arrangement 2016) pour
piano, violon solo et orchestre à cordes

  8.   I. Le diable boiteux [2:26]
  9.  II. Le diable amoureux [2:27]
10. III. Le diable gigueux [1:31]
11. IV. Le diable heureux [3:33]
12.  V. Le diable grincheux [2:15]

13. La Mort de Céleste [8:38]
      [pour orchestre a cordes inspire d'un
      des thèmes au film «Les portes tournantes»
      de Francis Mankiewrtz]

ATMA Classique is distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading
PO Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone +61 (0)3 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile +61 (0)3 9444 6879