ACD 2676 Cover

ATMA Classique Logo
Tim Brady
Atacama: Symphony No. 3

Peter Schubert, conductor

ACD2 2676
• Atacama Symphony No. 3 is a new work by Montreal-born composer Tim Brady performed by Bradyworks, VivaVoce Vocal Ensemble, and the composer himself at the electric guitar.   The composer's initial inspiration for the piece was a book of poems by Chilean-born poet Elías Letelier — a text that evokes “the political terror of the Pinochet era in Chile, but uses striking metaphors of hope and love in the midst of the nightmare of torture and disappearances,” says Brady.

• Each of the first five movements focuses on one poem and on one central musical idea, albeit with many variations.   The final movement is more like a suite, using three poems and moving through several different musical landscapes.

• Tim Brady has worked as a composer, guitarist, and producer of new music since 1980.   He has written more than 100 works including operas, symphonies, and many compositions for electric guitar. Brady is currently the composer-in-residence with the Orchestre symphonique de Laval and president of the Canadian New Music Network.

• Bradyworks was formed in 1989 to play the music of Tim Brady and to promote his vision of the electric guitar and contemporary chamber-music repertoire.   The ensemble features some of Canada's finest performers with experience in chamber music, jazz, free improvisation, opera, orchestral, and electroacoustic music.

• VivaVoce is a professional vocal ensemble committed to performing classical music from all periods and to developing the art of Canadian choral music by commissioning at least one new work each year.   VivaVoce's virtuosic execution of difficult contemporary scores has earned them the reputation of Montreal's chamber choir par excellence.

Tim Brady (b.1956)

1. Mvt. 1 POEM: Sonata di Pintor     7:55
2. Mvt. 2 POEM: El Baile de la Red     8 :47
3. Mvt. 3 POEM: Funeral Descalzo     4:35
4. Mvt. 4 POEM: Telegrama     5:24
5. Mvt. 5 POEM: Atacama     13:25
6. Mvt. 6 POEM: “Where are you from?”; Primer Nocturno; Que Alguien Escuche     10:24

ATMA Classique is distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading
PO Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone +61 (0)3 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile +61 (0)3 9444 6879