ACD 2552 Cover

ATMA Classique Logo
Le livre des Mélancolies

Jean-Guy Boisvert, clarinet
Quatuor Bozzini

ACD2 2552

Works for clarinet and string quartet by contemporary Canadian composers.

Born in Poland, Piotr Grella-Mozejko has lived in Canada since 1989. …river to the ocean… was commissioned by clarinettist Jean-Guy Boisvert in 1996.

Montreal composer Jean Lesage was born in 1958. Le Livre des mélancolies (1999) was commissioned by the Société de musique contemporaine du Québec [SMCQ].

Tim Brady is a composer and guitarist who has created music in a wide range of genres ranging from chamber and orchestral music to electroacoustic works, chamber opera, contemporary dance scores, jazz, and free improvisation. Slow Dances - 1999 was commissioned by Jean-Guy Boisvert and the Quatuor Bozzini.

Particularly interested in the music of his contemporaries, Jean-Guy Boisvert has frequently premiered new works by Canadian composers.

Moving freely from avant-garde events to traditional concerts, the Quatuor Bozzini was characterized by the Irish Times as a "group which gets its teeth into music: quiet or loud, fast or slow, these Canadian musicians play with compelling engagement."

        Piotr Grella-Mozejko
  1 :: ...River to the ocean...     [14:40]
  for clarinet in A and string quartet (1996)

        Jean Lesage
  2 - 4. :: Le Livre des mélancolies     [16:45]
  for quintette with clarinet (1999)

        Tim Brady
  5 - 8 :: Slow Dances     [22:27]
  for clarinet in B flat and string quartet (1999)

ATMA Classique is distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading
PO Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone +61 (0)3 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile +61 (0)3 9444 6879