ACD 2280 Cover

ATMA Classique Logo

Elloit Carter

Nouvel Ensemble Moderne
Lorraine Vaillancourt

ACD2 2280

Elliott Carter
Born in New York City on n December, 1908, Elliott Carter began to be seriously interested in music in high school and was encouraged at that time by Charles Ives.   He attended Harvard University where he studied with Walter Piston, and later went to Paris where for three years he studied with Nadia Boulanger.   He then returned to New York to devote his time to composing and teaching.

With the explorations of tempo relationships and texture that characterize his music, Carter has been one of the prime innovators of 20th-century music.   The challenges of works such as the Variations for Orchestra, Symphony of Three Orchestras, and the concertos and string quartets are richly rewarding.

Elliott Carter has been recipient of the highest honors that a composer can receive: the Gold Medal for Music awarded by the National Institute of Arts and Letters, the National Medal of Arts, membership in the American Academy of Arts and Letters and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and honorary degrees from many universities.   He has received two Pulitzer Prizes and commissions from prestigious organizations.


[ 1. ] Enchanted Preludes     6:24

[ 2. ] Con leggerezza pensosa     4:47

[ 3. ] Triple Duo     19:59

[ 4. ] Gra     3:43

[ 5. ] Riconoscenza per Goffredo Petrassi     5:20

[ 6. ] 90+     6:19

[ 7. ] Esprit rude / Esprit doux     4:42

[ 8. ] Esprit rude / Esprit doux II     4:00

[ 9. ] Concerto pour clarinette     17:49

ATMA Classique is distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading
PO Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone +61 (0)3 9432 4149 ~ Facsimile +61 (0)3 9444 6879