ACD2 2139 Cover

ATMA Classique Logo

Johan de Meij
The Lord Of The Rings

Ensemble vent et percussion de Quebec
René Joly

ACD2 2139

Symphony no. 1, The Lord of the Rings, draws its inspiration from the triology of the same name by John Ronald Reuel Tolkien (1892-1973). This epic adventure created by a professor of English literature was published in 1955 and quickly became a best-seller. It has since fascinated millions of readers the world over. The auther was inspired by Celtic and Nordic legends to stir up a new mythology reminiscent of old England. This fictitious world, the Middle Earth, is brimming with hobbits, dwarfs, elves, monstrous creatures and human beings as well. The intricate story evokes the unending stuggle between good and evil with the Ring in the central role deciding the survival or destruction of the world.

James C. Lebens (translation)

Johan de Meij (1953 - )
Symphonie no 1 - Symphony no 1
Le Seigneur des anneaux, The Lord of the Rings
[ 1. ] I Gandalf (Le magicien, The Wizard)     7:03
[ 2. ] II Lothlórien (La forêt des Elfes, Elvenwood)     8:15
[ 3. ] III Gollum (Sméagol)     10:20
[ 4. ] IV Séjour dans les ténèbres, Journey in the Dark     8:36
    a. Les mines de Moria, The Mines of Moria
    b. Le pont de Khazad-Dûm, The Bridge of Khazad-Dûm
[ 5. ] Hobbits     10:32

Jan van der Roost (1956 - )
[ 6. ] Spartacus     15:15
    Poème symphonique, Symphonic tone poem

André Jutras
[ 7. ] A Barrie North Celebration     8:16

ATMA Classique is distributed in Australia by Rockian Trading
PO Box 44, Briar Hill, Vic, 3088, Australia
Telephone +61 (0)3 9432 4149 ~ Telephone +61 (0)3 9444 6879